I expected an existential experience
or some kind of spiritual awakening,
a glimpse, perhaps, of the other side
of life.

(breathe in, breathe out)

I expected something to quicken
my faith or to kindle my spirit,
a glimpse of something that cannot
be explained.

(breathe in, breathe out)

I sat with my hand rubbing his shoulder,
head bowed in something that was not prayer;
the warmth spread through my hand as his breathing
became shallow.

(breathe in, breathe out)

Ordinary noise filled the room;
kids, television, the sound of a car…
a driver unaware something extraordinary
was happening inside
the home.

(breathe in, breathe out)

Angels did not appear,
nor did trumpets blast
their welcome to a new resident
of Heaven.

(                                        )

There was simply the absence
of breath;

sorrow filled the void.

Colors dimmed and
the world became
less brilliant.

 

 

 

 

